Permanent Exhibition

This small place has written great history over a very short time. From 1940 on, it served as National-Socialistic settlement for German ARMAMENT WORKERS, from 1945 onward as rescue site for survivors of the KZ DEATH MARCHES and as refuge for Jewish DISPLACED PERSONS and from 1956 on as new homestead for Catholic EXPELLEES. In Waldram, formerly known under the name Föhrenwald, history can be experienced as in fast forward motion, with traces of this unique story of emigration evident to this day. Opened at the end of 2018 as a memorial site, the BADEHAUS tells this local story with international dimensions through its permanent multi-media exhibition on over 900 sqm floor space and covering three different floors.

 

Underneath the MEMORY TREES witnesses to the times from all the eras recount their …

read more ...

... stories before, during and after their time in Föhrenwald and Waldram.

 

A film on the ritual Jewish MIKWE bath localizes the religious life where it actually happened: in the "BADEHAUS" (Bathing house), in the synagogue or in daily life.

 

The award winning audio feature "FÖHRENWALD" from Michaela Melián tells the story of the place in form of a multi-media installation artefact that combines drawings made by pupils on the topic. Their sketches float freely through a dark space, while interlacing with music, texts and quotes to convey an imaginary walk through the village.

 

The photo documentation KINDERWELTEN (Children’s' worlds), installed in the outdoor area, recalls and juxtaposes the life of children from the Jewish Displaced Persons and from the Catholic expellees. This part of the exhibition is publicly accessible.

 

Concept: Dr. Sybille Krafft (supervision), Eva Greif, Maria Mannes, Emanuel Rüff, Annekatrin Schulz with the assistance of Jonathan Coenen, Sebastian d’Huc, Simone Steuer, Andreas Wagner

 

Design & Layout: Büro-Müller Rieger, Munich

SPECIAL EXHIBITION

From all the way down.
The last things.

December 1, 2019 - March 29, 2020

Extended to July 19, 2020

 

'Migration Today' is the topic which the 4. special exhibition addressed. It shows pictures by the Italian photographer Mattia Balsamini, which document objects from refugees, who drowned on their passage across the Mediterranean.


Past exhibitions

Every recollection counts

Shoshana Bellen was born in Waldram (then still called Föhrenwald) to parents who had survived the Shoa. Channa Braun came as a 13-year old to Föhrenwald and looks back at very enjoyable years of her youth there. Alois Brustmann recalls their expulsion from Bohemia and the Sudetenland and subsequent arrival in the Isar valley. Different experiences and memories widen the view on the past. Do you also have a connection to the former Föhrenwald or today's Waldram? Tell us your story and support us with objects from bygone times.

OPINIONS ON THE PROJECT

PLANNING YOUR VISIT

Please pay attention to the following hygiene and safety instructions:

Closed on Fridays | No public tours | Guided tours by arrangement

Address

Kolpingplatz 1
82515 Wolfratshausen
Germany

Opening hours

Saturday, Sunday: 1 pm - 5 pm

Tickets

Adults: 5 €
Reduced: 3 €

Getting here:

By car
Motorway A95: Munich-Garmisch, exit: Sauerlach
Motorway A8: Munich-Salzburg, take exit: Sauerlach
Federal road B11: Munich-Wolfratshausen-Mittenwald-Innsbruck

By plane
Airport Munich, then with the commuter train or car in approx. 1 hour

By train
Munich Public Transport (MVV): S7 train to Wolfratshausen (every 20 minutes from Munich Central Station), then with bus 370 or 379 to Waldram, approx. 350 m on foot to the BADEHAUS.

©2020 Bürger fürs BADEHAUS Waldram Föhrenwald e.V.

Dauerausstellung

Ein kleiner Ort hat in kurzer Zeit große Geschichte geschrieben: ab 1940 als NS-Siedlung für deutsche RÜSTUNGSARBEITER, ab 1945 als Rettungsort für Überlebende des KZ-TODESMARSCHES und als Fluchtpunkt für jüdische DISLPACED PERSONS und ab 1956 als neue Heimstätte für katholische HEIMATVERTRIEBENE. In Waldram, ehemals Föhrenwald, ist Geschichte wie im Zeitraffer erlebbar. Bis heute finden sich hier Spuren dieser einzigartigen Migrationsgeschichte. Der Erinnerungsort BADEHAUS erzählt in seiner Ende 2018 eröffneten multimedialen Dauerausstellung auf über 900 qm und 3 Stockwerken von dieser Lokalgeschichte mit internationaler Ausstrahlung.

 

Unter den BÄUMEN DER ERINNERUNG erzählen Zeitzeugen aus allen Zeitschichten von…

mehr lesen...

…ihren Schicksalen vor, in und nach ihrer Zeit in Föhrenwald und Waldram.

 

Ein Film zum jüdischen Ritualbad, der MIKWE, verortet das religiöse Leben dort, wo es stattfand: im BADEHAUS, der Synagoge oder im täglichen Leben.

 

Das mehrfach ausgezeichnete Hörstück FÖHRENWALD von Michaela Melián in Kombination mit Zeichnungen von Schülern erzählt die Geschichte des Ortes als multimediale Installation. Ihre im dunklen Raum schwebenden Zeichnungen überblenden sich ineinander mit Musik, Texten sowie Zitaten und imaginieren einen Spaziergang durch den Ort.

 

Im Außenbereich erzählt die Fotodokumentation KINDERWELTEN vom Leben der Kinder bei den jüdischen Displaced Persons und bei den katholischen Heimatvertriebenen im Vergleich. Dieser Teil der Ausstellung ist öffentlich zugänglich.

 

Konzeption: Dr. Sybille Krafft (Leitung), Eva Greif, Maria Mannes, Emanuel Rüff, Annekatrin Schulz unter Mitarbeit von Jonathan Coenen, Sebastian d’Huc, Simone Steuer, Andreas Wagner  

Gestaltung: Büro-Müller Rieger, München

SONDERAUSSTELLUNG

Von ganz unten.
Die letzten Dinge.

1. Dezember 2019 - 29. März 2020

Verlängert bis 19. Juli 2020

 

Migration heute, dieser Thematik widmet sich die 4. Sonderausstellung. Sie zeigt Bilder des italienischen Fotografen Mattia Balsamini. Er hat Gegenstände von Flüchtlingen dokumentiert, die auf dem Weg über das Mittelmeer ertrunken sind.


Vergangene Ausstellungen

Jede Erinnerung zählt

Shoshana Bellen wurde in Waldram (damals Föhrenwald) geboren, ihre Eltern waren Holocaust-Überlebende. Channa Braun kam als 13-Jährige im damaligen Föhrenwald an und hat ihre Jugendjahre dort sehr genossen. Alois Brustmann erzählt von der Vertreibung aus Böhmen und dem Sudetenland und wie er ins Isartal gelangte. Unterschiedliche Erlebnisse und Erfahrungen erweitern den Blick auf die Vergangenheit. Sie haben ebenso eine Verbindung zum damaligen Föhrenwald oder heutigen Waldram? Erzählen auch Sie Ihre Geschichte oder unterstützen Sie uns mit Gegenständen aus vergangenen Zeiten.

STIMMEN ZUM PROJEKT

BESUCH PLANEN

Bitte beachten Sie folgende Hygiene- und Sicherheitshinweise:

Freitags geschlossen | Öffentliche Führungen entfallen | Sonderführung nach Vereinbarung

Adresse

Kolpingplatz 1
82515 Wolfratshausen
Deutschland

Öffnungszeiten

Samstag, Sonntag: 13-17 Uhr

Tickets

Erwachsene: 5 €
Ermäßigt: 3 €

Anfahrt

Auto
Autobahn A95: München-Garmisch, Ausfahrt Sauerlach
Autobahn A8: München-Salzburg, Ausfahrt Sauerlach
Bundesstraße B11: München-Wolfratshausen-Mittenwald-Innsbruck

Flugzeug
Flughafen München, von dort aus mit S-Bahn oder Auto ca. eine Stunde

Bahn
Münchner Verkehrsverbund (MVV): S7 Richtung Wolfratshausen (ab Hauptbahnhof alle 20 Minuten), weiter mit Bus 370 oder 379 bis Waldram, Fußweg ca. 350 m bis zum Erinnerungsort BADEHAUS.

©2020 Bürger fürs BADEHAUS Waldram Föhrenwald e.V.